My work/tinker PC

I get crap for using a fourteen year old computer for my projects. Here is the reason why I do so.

I built the system out of an array of parts I have collected over the years so I can release the household’s main desktop so if I screw up on something project wise that requires a computer I won’t fry/kill/crash the main desktop. Also computers today lack a LPT (Parallel port) and RS-232 (Serial). A lot of software I run requires a DOS compatible system and 64bit systems such as Windows 7/8 and soon 10 doesn’t like 16bit. Honestly I prefer Linux and BSD but since we’re not in a perfect world I’m stuck running Windows for some needed software that a XenServer or Emulator will not suffice.

If you’re wondering what the specs are and want a good laugh even though it makes perfect sence.

FIC AM37
AMD Athlon XP 2000+ 1.67GHz
PC2700 1GB DDR memory
nVidia GeForce 6200 256MB AGP
Western Digital 120GB PATA hard drive booting WindowsXP, Debian Linux Wheezy, MS-DOS.
Iomega Zip 100 (trust me it comes in handy).
ITE Parallel PCI addon card (IT8875F)

The way I see it is if it boots and has all of the ports you need and want then it will work just fine. I use the native aspects of hardware IE bare metal instead of relying on USB to RS-232 converters and emulating ports to work.

Leave a Reply

