PWM success with 74 logic

Did some testing and sure enough the 7414 logic chip and a ULN2003 are a great match for setting up a PWM circuit. I tested it with a LED and a 12volt brushless PC fan. When I tried this setup using a 555 timer all I was able to get was a audible sine wave and a very low output.

The PWM side runs off of 5volts while the transistor array runs on 12volts. The ULN2003 I think is capable of using 50volts but I would not go past 30volts. The motor I picked for the spindle is a high torque 8 – 12 volt motor that is used for airsoft rifles so 12 volts is all I need. The only issue I see is the current and amp draw.

Leave a Reply

