Router Modding

I was given four Netgear WN2000RPT Wifi extenders. Out of the box they don’t do much other then extend a wifi or use as a repeater. I have found out they’re just like the Netgear WNR2000 router but with out a WAN port. I forced flashed one of them to use a old version of the WNR2000 firmware by using TFTP and it worked. The firmware I used was for the WNR2000 V1. I also was able to enable the telnet console and gain access via telnet. Now for giggles I want to flash OpenWRT on to the box I modified and see if it works. If all goes well I might look further into creating a custom image and seeing if I could use one as a mini webserver.

I’m currently building barrier breaker and hopefully it will work.

Leave a Reply

