Scored another DLP TV

A friend gave me a 65inch DLP TV. All what was needed was a new lamp so I thought. I found one locally for $30.00. Got home and plugged it in and tested it with my power inverter before lugging it out of the van. The power came on but then there was the smell of magic smoke. I quickly turned it off. I took off the back panel and found the side that holds the power supply and video board had the burnt smell. I pulled it and sure enough there are a couple of burnt caps, blown fuses and a charged power resistor. Dunno if my power inverter was the blame or the years of dust. I’ll attempt to fix it or just salvage parts.

Leave a Reply

