Computers and more Computers

Finished and gave back the troublesome laptop I repaired. Works like a charm. I had to create a special install image for it by slipstreaming the drivers for the laptop into the install. For some reason with generic drivers the system freaked out.

I got my Son’s Gaming PC finished. For some reason the AMD SATA driver set does not like Windows 7. I tried so many ways on tackling that problem but couldn’t get it to work. I had no choice to install Windows 8. He’s happy and hasn’t been off it since. Only issue however is the annoying OSD lockout that pops up constantly. Think it has a dead menu switch. I told him with his Christmas money he should get a new LCD.
To keep the project cost low since his budget is small we decided to use a Netgear WiFi extender since I have a bunch of them a friend gave me. Stupid thing for some reason was a pain to setup. Some reason the DHCP wasn’t enabled and even if you used a static address it wouldn’t talk to the extender and you also need WiFi to set it up. Be nice you can set it up with a wired Ethernet connection and have DHCP automatically turned on.

On main desktop the wife and I share I had to clean out a bunch of junk. Over 100GB of crap was deleted and a bunch of spyware/malware from the wife trying to get the Webcam working. She installed Driver Detective that is nothing more then a Trojan of spyware. The system doesn’t have a huge hard drive but a couple of smaller drives. The C:\> is a small 120GB hard drive that pretty much only has Windows, User profiles and a couple of programs while D:\> is a 600GB drive that has everything else. However to my insanity I have a 20GB drive that is just for Virtual Memory. Works well and I don’t care what anyone says but it is faster in my opinion to have the Pagefile.sys on it’s own drive.
When I was putting this all together the first time around the 600GB drive was the primary drive and later added the 120GB drive. This became a hassle after a while and when I was able to have it my way I tossed on Windows 7 onto the 120GB and just switched things around. Granted I have ran into a few issues on the way such as some programs do not let you select where you want to install the data. For a example my wife loves to play Sims3 and has almost all of the expansion packs. This eats up a ton of space by a whole whopping 70GB. Since it is installed by EA’s Orion it forcefully makes you use C:\Program Files (x86)\Orion Games\. The more data on your primary drive the longer it takes to collect the data and thus slows it down. so with Windows and Sims3 I was down to 20GB free. Kinda BS that Windows eats up so much space. Anyway I started to think their must be a way to do a system link like in Unix/Linux. After thinking about it I would have to format the second drive and make it link to the directory and blah blah blah. I didn’t want that but after asking around I found a program called DirLinker. It can move the files you want and links it to the old location so no need to play with the registry or anything. Even comes in handy if say my wife installs something and forgets to redirect it to D:\>.

Times I wish I was OCD with other things then just with the computer.

Leave a Reply

