Free Server

Well I got the server yesterday and man I was wrong. It’s a HP Proliant ML310 Gen 4. It’s got 4GB of ram and a Intel Pentium D CPU.

The Power supply is bad so I tossed in a 270watt supply. The server had a 410watt supply but it’s running lowend stuff so it’s fine. I tossed on Debian and if it wasn’t for the HP SAS RAID array card it would be a run of the mill desktop.

I’m thinking to toss in a couple of bigger drives and toss on FreeNAS and use it for backing up the computers.

Leave a Reply

