News 11/27/16

Last week was my 33rd Birthday. Didn’t do much on my Birthday since my three sons also share their Birthdays in November as well. My wife made all of us our own Cakes and selected our choice in Ice Cream. A friend gave me a LG G3 Cell Phone with a Wal-Mart Family Mobile Sim Card. I am thinking to activate the phone soon and probably do away with the house line.

I got a hold of a UPS (Uninterruptible Power Supply) from work. It doesn’t work and after spending a few attempts to get it going I stripped it down. It’s a TrippLite brand unit and I have to say it is well-engineered and does not use any cheap components. However since it was soldered together with Lead-Free it is a pain to use my cheapo soldering irons to remove the parts. I am going to use the case for my dual power supply project that I keep putting on the back burner. The case is the same size as the old Shuttle desktop computers.

The Van is still running well however the Gas Gauge doesn’t show the proper Gas levels anymore. Probably because the new pump assembly didn’t line up exactly so a couple of degrees makes a huge difference. Some time I’ll probably end up dropping the tank again and fix that issue.

On the 29th and 30th I will start on a little construction project of a spice rack for my Wife. I plan to use Oak Pallet wood so it will match the Country Kitchen look we have. I might even attempt to make some Milk Paint to finish it. No-matter how it will end but it will have a white with blue trim color scheme.

The same friend that gave me the Phone is really into Google products and he bought himself one of those Google Home devices. I asked him last night how he likes it and he said he loves it so much he bought another one for the bedroom. He also said Google is coming out with a WiFi system so you can connect multiple Google devices together on a network so you can have for an example two or more Google Home devices work together in tandem.

The other night at Wal-Mart a co-worker and I were looking at 4K TVs and he was noticing a fair price for them. When I was looking at them I noticed how they’re lying to the consumer. The TVs in question are not truly 4K but 2K Ultra HD. Every single TV they had except the super expensive Samsung curved screen they had listed the pixel rate for the horizontal¬† 2,048. A real 4K screen resolution for the horizontal is 4,096. However a lot of times you will see it listed as 3,840. So if you are in the market for a 4K TV then just keep in mind that stores such as Wal-Mart will list the TV incorrect and sell you a TV claiming to be 4K but is really 2K. Just remember you get what you pay for.

Leave a Reply

