CNC back off from the back burner.

Last week I was finally able to work outside again since the remodel for the exterior portion of my apartment building. I was rummaging around my storage closet and came across a sheet of Oriented strand board (OSB). OSB is dirt cheap, a 4ft X 8ft sheet can go for about $6.00 to $10.00 at Home Depot. I laid out by hand the parts for the frame of the CNC unit. Instead of having the Gantry moveable I decided to have the X axis move. I cleaned out the ruff lay out with my square and used the Jig saw to cut the parts out.

20170109_153144

20170109_153215

Since a Jig saw cuts ruff and like heck you’ll get anything squared up I used my hand router with a flush trim bit to make everything square and to the correct sizes.

20170109_153328

As a reference for a straight edge I found a small piece of scrap wood that was square and used a hot glue gun to glue the straight edge to the OSB pieces.

20170109_153318

20170109_153322

After messing around with the Router I was able to get everything squared and perfect.

20170109_163625

Nothing is fasten together yet. I will do that on the final assembly. I have found a few options for the spindle and a few ideas I want to try for the railing system. I plan to work on this more this Sunday.

Leave a Reply

